Image of Abbey Warehouse in Penzance , Cornwall


Find out more about upcoming elections in your parish.

Election arrangements for Penzance Council 2021

The next election for seats on Penzance Council will take place on Thursday 6 May 2021.

The voting and election process is organised and managed by Cornwall Council and all registered residents of Penzance Parish will receive notification and voting forms through the post.  This will also include details of the polling station for your area.

Any resident wishing to register on the Electoral Roll can do so by using the details on the Cornwall Council website.

Brief History

Following Local Government re-organisation in 1974 and the demise of Penzance Borough Council and the West Penwith Rural District Council, the Charter, the civic regalia and traditions of the town were maintained by the Penzance Charter Trustees until the formation of Penzance Council in 1980.

Penzance Council is comprised of 20 members serving 5 wards in the Parish area of Penzance, which includes Newlyn, Mousehole, Paul, Gulval and Heamoor.  In the elections on 6 May 2021, the following seats will be contested:-

Central Ward – 4 seats (electorate 2943)

East Ward – 4 seats (electorate 4343)

Gulval – 1 seat (electorate 651)

Heamoor – 3 seats (electorate 2075)

Promenade – 4 seats (electorate 2544)

Newlyn & Mousehole Ward – 4 seats (electorate 3889)

The Council will serve until the first week of May 2025 (a 4 year term of office).

Our Partners & Who We Support